Sixth Grade

Curriculum at a Glance

Independence, accountability and responsibility are words students can expect to hear often in these middle school grades. While the concepts are gradually introduced in kindergarten through fourth grade, by fifth and sixth grade they are put into practice daily as students become self-motivated learners. Students switch classes, exposing them to different teaching styles and teachers who specialize in each subject area. Core study areas:

  • Reading
  • English and Spelling
  • Math
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Religion
  • Computer, Art, Music and Physical Education - weekly
  • Library Skills / Research Projects
  • Health

Look for updates as St. Charles completes its transition to the Common Core Standards.